10 Struggles Depressed People Avoid Talking About

Wonderful article.

Thought Catalog

Shutterstock / Adam GregorShutterstock / Adam Gregor

When I was 16, I was diagnosed with clinical depression. After the diagnosis, my uncle slapped me on the back and said, “Welcome to the family kid,” while my family all compared drugs around the kitchen table. I’m extremely lucky that my family not only accepted that depression is a real, serious issue, but they understood it. (I come from a long line of clinically depressed people.) They were mindful to make sure that my depression wasn’t used as a crutch or an excuse, but thankfully, I never once heard the unhelpful “Just suck it up and deal with it,” and for that, I will be eternally grateful. (I also wrote about 10 brutal truths single people never talk about.)

Depression is different for everyone, but over the years I’ve noticed a few things that don’t seem to waver. They hold fast in their level…

View original post 940 more words

Leave a Reply

